Mokume-Gane with Polymer Clay

Faux Mokume-Gane Focal Pendant

Faux Mokume-Gane Focal Pendant

Whoa! It’s been a while since I last posted and I have so much to share with you I don’t know where to start.

Since my last post about Polymer Clay and the wonderful things you can create with it I was inspired to broaden my horizons and set out to learn some new techniques involving this wonderful medium.

I’ve been wanting to experiment with translucent clay and Liquid gel for a while.  So, I’ve been experimenting with mixing clay with alcohol inks, pastels, acrylic paints, mica powder and gold and silver foil.   Using the alcohol inks with liquid gel set me off on a whole new path of producing buttons (for a later post) and trying to create faux enamel pieces and when I mixed the inks with the translucent clay this got me doing lots of experiments as what you think you are going to get, sometimes turns out very different! (Yet another post for me to write).

This post though is about a faux technique I recently discovered called Mokume-Gane.  Mokume-Gane is Japanese, roughly translated meaning “wood grain metal” or “wood eye metal”, it is known for it’s distinctive layered patterns, which is great for producing in clay and quite simple too and it gave me the opportunity to use the gold and silver foil I’ve been wanting to try!

Faux Mokume-Gane black, white and silver beads

Faux Mokume-Gane black, white and silver beads

What I love about this technique is that you never know what you are going to achieve until you start slicing, the above beads where created with black, white and silver foil, I really love how these turned out but I just couldn’t get the photo to do them justice.

The beads and pendants above and below, were all created with White, metallic gold, violet and caramel fimo soft.  This is just a small sample of what I created.

Here is a finished piece.

Polymer Clay faux Mokume Gane beads, Gold, white and pink necklace Georgia P Designs

 

There are quite a lot of tutorials for faux Mokume-gane available on Pinterest, Youtube etc, but many are in foreign languages, so I am thinking I might write a brief tutorial for anyone that might be interested in giving this a try. It’s also useful for me to write the method down so I don’t forget about the technique.  Let me know if you are interested and I will post it sooner rather than later.

Thanks for reading and visiting.

Linda x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

