Beaded Wire Business Card Holder

Making a beaded & wired business card holder - front

First up, I have to be entirely honest here, this is not my own idea, someone on a jewellery group page on Facebook showed a picture of a wired business card holder they had made and I thought WOW I must make one of those for my cards.  I looked on-line and I couldn’t find any instructions or tutorials and the picture I saw only showed the front, so I decided to make my own and I kind of made it up as I went along, thinking how best to support the cards.  It is NOT perfect, but to be honest I kind of like that fact, it some-how gives it a unique edge! By writing about this I hope it sparks an idea and you too have a go at creating one.

This is what I used:

Approx 18-20″ of 1.2mm (16 gauge) Copper Wire (but you can use silver plate if you prefer)

A number of Beads with big enough holes to thread onto the wire for the front and 2 beads to add stability to the back of the frame.

Tools:

Round Nose Pliers

Flat Nose Pliers

Wire Cutters

Chasing/Planishing Hammer

Metal Block

What I did:

  • I threaded the beads onto the wire (leaving 2 for the back) and roughly estimated the centre point of the wire.
  • Then using my business card as a guide, I used my flat nose pliers to bend the wire downwards on each side of the beads (this for me was approx 2.5-3″ in length).
  •  Approx 1″ down bend each side of the wire back to form the base of the stand and then approx 1″ again bend the wire upwards (make sure you don’t poke yourself in the eye).

Making a beaded & wired business card holder (2)

  • Again I used my business card as a guide, (approx 2″) use your round nose pliers to bend the wire down.
  • Attach bead to each side and make a spiral with the ends to finish off.
  • Now you may find that it is looking a bit funny and uneven, mine did! I then used my hands to manipulate the wire into position and the shape I wanted it.
  • Once I was happy with it, I used my hammer and metal block to strengthen the wire, but you don’t have to do this if you don’t have these.
  • After hammering I then again played around with the position of the wire until I was happy with it and it supported my cards.

Making a beaded & wired business card holder - just the frame

Making a beaded & wired business card holder - side view

As I said above it does not have to be perfect as long as you are happy with the shape you have achieved and it supports your cards, that’s all that matters.  I just think it’s a cheap, brilliant and unique way to display your business cards.  What do you think?  If you decide to have a go yourself I would love to see some pictures?

Linda x

PS.  To show you how easy it is, I had some scraps left after making the first one, so I made this in just 5 minutes!  Again not perfect, but it does the job!

2nd attempt with scraps combo

11 thoughts on “Beaded Wire Business Card Holder

  1. Hello! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us
    so I came to give it a look. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Terrific blog and amazing design and style.

Leave a Reply

