Beaded Cuff Update

Hi, I thought it was time I gave you a little update on how I am getting on with my homemade loom, I have been busy!

Since starting using the loom, I thought I ought to do a little research about it, as I kind of just dove straight in with it, without really knowing much about it. I am amazed how many books there are on the subject and how many ‘free’ patterns there are available on the web.  Not that I want to copy any of them, but it made me realise how much design potential there is.

I also came across a couple of bits of terminology ‘Warps’ and ‘Wefts’ I discovered that ‘Warp’ threads are the threads that are secured to the loom and the ‘Wefts’ are the threads that you weave with, ie the working threads on the needle you apply the beads with. Better than me calling them the down and across threads I suppose!

At the moment I am only working with 5 row and 3 row bracelet designs, using only beads and supplies in my ‘stash’.  However, I am now starting to run out of some items, but it has been fun thinking creatively with what I do have, ie. an assortment of odd beads, waxed cord, 1mm leather cord and suede cords. I must say the suede has created some of my favourite designs so far.

Here are a few pictures I thought I would share with you.

5 Row Beaded Cuff bracelet with daisy flower design by Georgia P Designs

I tried to make the one above look a bit like a daisy!

5 Row Beaded Cuff arrow design by Georgia P Designs

With this one I attempted an ‘arrow’ design.

5 Row Beaded cuff, black & white by Georgia P Designs

This one I made for a friends daughter, who has a very tiny wrist!

3 Row Beaded Cuff with Turquoise beads on black leather cord by Georgia P Designs

This is a 3 row beaded cuff made using black leather cord and some turquoise semi precious gemstones I had left.

3 Row beaded cuff on brown leather cord with ivory & gold pearls by Georgia P Designs

This one was made on brown leather cord and some ivory and gold glass pearls.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet red and black with Hematite beads by Georgia P Designs

With this one I thought I would have a go at including a larger bead (Hematite donut) and beading around it.  This is also on black leather.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet with black beads, red beads and MOP beads on brown waxed cord by Georgia P Designs

I ran out of black waxed cord so I thought I would see how it would look on brown with this one.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet with a broken bead

This was my first attempt at making a 3 row beaded cuff and I loved it, but then I did a very stupid thing and dropped it on my hard tiled kitchen floor and broke one of the seed beads, you can probably just make out the small gap at the back.  As I couldn’t bring myself to take it apart and make it again, I’m going to keep this one all for myself.

3 Row Beaded cuff bracelet on purple suede cord by Georgia P Designs

The first 3 row cuff I made using the suede cord. I just love the colour of this one.

3 Row Beaded cuff bracelet on purple suede cord with Amethyst chips by Georgia P Designs

With this one I thought I would experiment with totally different beads and used some amethyst chips I had left in my stash.  I do love how they stand out from the rest of the cuff but it is still very comfy to wear.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet on beige suede with Ametrine chip beads by Georgia P Designs

Similar to the amethyst chips but this one was made using Peach Aventurine chips.  This will look great in summer.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet on black suede with blue and white beads by Georgia P Designs

Blue and white beads on black suede cord really makes this one stand out, I think this will look great with Jeans in winter or Summer.

3 Row beaded cuff bracelet on beige suede with white blue and orange beads by Georgia P Designs

Another ‘summery’ design on beige suede cord, with orange, blue and white seed beads.

I hope you like them, I will add more as and when I make them.

Linda x

3 thoughts on “Beaded Cuff Update

Leave a Reply

