A New Year of new Challenges

Happy New Year everyone, I hope you all had a really good Christmas and Santa brought you everything you desired.  I got a Tassimo Coffee Machine, which will be good for keeping me supplied with coffee and buzzing throughout the day!

Mine was very restful and I could almost say lazy, judging by the fact that it has been quite a while since I last blogged and I put on 3 lbs over Christmas!

2013 for me is going to be a year of learning and challenges and no more excuses.  I have decided to spend a lot more time learning and improving some of my jewellery techniques.  I have been wanting to learn how to make glass beads (lampwork) and glass pendants (fusing) for a good while now as well as wanting to work with Sterling Silver and Silver PMC .  I also want to learn and experiment with more beading techniques, including beading embroidery, Viking knit and quite a few other things I have seen over the past year I would like to improve, learn and try.

But usually I haven’t been able to find the time, I can’t find the courses in my area and I certainly don’t have the money for all the courses I would like to do and all the new equipment I would need.  I think it is a case of prioritising or winning the lottery!

If anybody reading this knows anyone who can teach me how to make lampwork glass beads in the North West/Cheshire area of the UK then please let me know?

I might not have the money, but I am certainly going to try to make the time to learn as much as I can as best as I can, using Tutorials on-line and I am hoping to share with you how I am getting on, starting with my next post which will be about a couple of beading techniques I am currently learning which is great for using up the stash of seed beads I already have.

So here is my current list of things I want to do this year:

  1. Learn Viking Knit
  2. Improve my wire wrapping techniques
  3. Learn Beading embroidery & other beading techniques
  4. Find a course and learn Glass Fusing & lampwork bead making.
  5. Start selling on Etsy
  6. Learn Soutache
  7. Learn to work with Sterling Silver and Silver PMC (something I wanted to try last year!)
  8. To lose another 24 lbs in weight and continue to keep fit and healthy.
  9. Have a proper holiday ~ abroad!

I have also shared this list in a post on my other blog ‘The Crafty Network’ as I am also trying to get other people to share with me their challenges for this year, so we might help motivate and inspire each other.  I would love to hear what challenges/resolutions you have set for yourself this year?

Fingers crossed this is going to be a great year.

Take care.

Linda x

Leave a Reply

