All about Jewellery this week!

Another week has almost flown by and it’s time to blog again and tell you about the highlights of my week!

Now that I’ve finished my mixed media course I‘m finding I have more time again to make jewellery, but first I really needed to sort out my crafting room (study).  A lot of the items I had been using on my course had remained in the rather large bag I took to class, so whenever I needed anything I had to almost empty the whole contents out to find things.  I’ve not finished yet but I’m getting a bit more organised, the hardest thing is deciding what to remove as I’m a bit of a stationery freak and hoard note books, paper, folders etc !

I’ve also been on a bit of a shopping spree this week, buying new beads and findings, so while I was doing a bit of shopping I decided to treat myself to something I’ve been wanting to buy for a while, which is a Kumihimo disc and some braids.  I love trying new things in my jewellery making and Kumihimo, which is the Japanese art of braiding, was something on my list of things to do.  Wow I love it; it’s so addictive and easy too.  I love the colour combinations and patterns that can be achieved with the braids and they feel so solid and strong.  I posted this picture on my Facebook page as my first attempt and then the next day I decided to give one away to a lucky person who commented on my post, it was just an excuse to make another one really!  The lucky person suggested a gold, brown and creams combination, which I am currently busy making.

My 1st attempt at a Kumihimo Bracelet

I’m also interested in experimenting with some different ideas to incorporate beads into the design, this morning I added some seed beads into one of the bracelets I made, I think it turned out quite well?  I also made a necklace and one rather colourful bracelet for my youngest son, which surprised me greatly as he normally refuses to wear any form of jewellery!

Kumihimo Bracelet with seed beads added

My son’s bracelet!

Kumihimo Necklace with Silver Plated Ammonite Pendant

I’ve also this week completed a four strand necklace for a friend. She supplied her own beads I just had to put it all together for her.  It wasn’t a complicated piece but the beads were the smallest gemstone chips you could imagine and it was so difficult to find the hole in each chip it took me ages and I found I could only do it in natural light.

4 Strand semi-precious gemstone chip necklace

 

Short and sweet this week, my craving to make jewellery is calling!  Have a good week everyone.

Linda x

Leave a Reply

