Georgia P Designs ~ Spring is approaching!

Yeh! its getting lighter and a little warmer, don’t you just feel you have more energy and want to do more when the weather improves?  I certainly do.  I think Spring is one of my most favourite times of the year as I love to wander around the garden and see it coming alive again with new shoots growing on all the plants and trees.  My motivation is well and truly stirred.

This past month I have been experimenting more with the polymer clay trying out several designs on pendants, brooches and rings, which I’m really pleased with.  I also made some daisies but I’m not too happy with them, it is so important when working with white clay to work on a very clean and dust free surface and to have clean hands.  The slightest hair or speck of dust seems to be attracted to the clay.  I thought I’d done OK but after baking the daisies I have noticed one or 2 tiny tiny hairs and this really annoys me and once varnished they seem to stand out even more.  So I think this batch may get binned or used for something less important.

 

As usual, I have been on a little spending spree, first I treated myself to this beautiful bowl (still spending my Christmas money, honest!), handmade by Helen from Fired Contemporary Glass.  I saw it before Christmas in her portfolio book and asked her to make me one when she had the time. I went round to her house to pick it up a couple of weeks ago and I got a chance to have a look around her studio and see more of her fantastic work.  I am so pleased with it and it goes really well in my dining room.  If you are interested in seeing more of Helen’s work visit her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/linda.fidler2#!/FIREDCONTEMPORARYGLASS.

Also, this month I have been buying some new and different focal beads.  I am a big fan of trees and when I saw this handmade focal bead I just had to have it.  It is made by Self representing bead artist Janey Diver: (SRA H-152), who lives in the Staffordshire Moorlands.  It’s more lovely in real life, I just need now to do it justice in a necklace, any ideas?

The other item I bought is a handmade glass pendant with a frog on it, by a  hand crafted Bead artist in America based in the foothills of the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia (I can’t get that tune out of my head now, if you are of a cetain age you will know which one I mean!). This artist strives to create new and unique works of art and every piece is different.  I loved this and I just had to have it for myself.  It reminds me slightly of the bronze Frogman Pieces by Tim Cotterill. http://frogmancollection.com/timcotterill.html but a bit more affordable!

Thanks for your interest and have a good month.

Linda x

Leave a Reply

